Posted in Uncategorized

Mighty Warriors Wondering

When the angel of the LORD appeared to Gideon, he said, “The LORD is with you, mighty warrior.”

“Pardon me, my lord,” Gideon replied, “but if the LORD is with us, why has all this happened to us? Where are all his wonders that our ancestors told us about when they said, ‘Did not the LORD bring us up out of Egypt?’ But now the Lord has abandoned us and given us into the hand of Midian.”
The LORD turned to him and said, “Go in the strength you have and save Israel out of Midian’s hand. Am I not sending you?”
“Pardon me, my lord,” Gideon replied, “but how can I save Israel? My clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my family.”
The LORD answered, “I will be with you, and you will strike down all the Midianites, leaving none alive.”

— Judges 6:12-16 NIV

==============================================

Id like to ask that same question.  If God is with us, then why is it so difficult?  God encourages us to fight, when we feel the weakest in the bunch.  It is not about our strength, it is about His Power in us that makes the enemy fall.  God is wiser than you and I. He knows how to give you the ability to defeat the devil and his crew.  Gideon felt as if, he could not accomplish such a great task.  God tells him to go and save Israel from the enemies grasp and all he thinks of is how far down the family line he is.  You and I have a daunting task in life.  We have to go and save those lost in self. It is difficult to fight a physical enemy to set captives free.  But, when it is self that blocks us from acconplishing Spiritual goals. It is a difficult process for us to understand.  You question yourself when you are not to sure of what you must do to accomplish the task the Lord has given you.  How do we stop our children from suffering Spiritually?  How can you help others avoid falling into the same routine of life? People will experience their own pitfalls.  To a point that is a life lesson well taught ,but, if you could give some pointers, wouldnt it be easier to share that information?  Gideon doesnt know for sure all that is before him and how to carry it out according to the instructions.  So, he asks the Lord to confirm his purpose.  Maybe we need to ask God to confirm what we heard Him say to us, so that we are getting it right.   I have told some around me, that I would not be a good member of another congregation.  Because, I have been a Sr Pastor for this long, and all I would do is critique and become a terrible member.  Once you have been in charge, it is hard to give the reigns over to someone else.  That is especially true for retired Ministers.  They cant just sit back and let the stuff that is not right get swept under the rug.  I would be a terrible member of a church, unless it is something I passed down and I know the inner workings of the leadership.  This is what I am desiring to do.  Ready those around me to take the reigns and lead the congregation the rest of the way, like Joshua did after Moses.

Incidentally, Joshua’s name is actually pronounce Yeshua.  So, Joshua,  or Yeshua, was the one to lead the rest of Israel over the Jordon River to the finished promise.  Like Christ who is coming to lead us to the finishing of the promised land of Eternity.

So, we ask for a sign that we are truly hearing the Sirit right.  God make this happen if it is actually you telling me to go.  God do this thing here to help me get understanding.  Gideon tried everything to make sure it was him the Lord wanted to perform the assignment.  It was him.  It is you my brother and sister.  There is bo easy cookie cut out, like some organizations try to do to build congregations.  They get the demographics and do major campaings before they move into communities to start their churches.  If we follow the models that work for men, then we get those types of people in our church.  For a while it may work, but for how long?   Becuse, those organizations have found the secret for their success.  May not work for what the Lord has given us to do.  I tried to fold into a long standing church organization established with credibility, but they just begin to do what all the other establishments had done.  They changed to fit men.  They compromised the integrity of the Script to keep membership strong.  God hasnt called me to a cookie cut out ministry.  He called me to a self starter.  To a ground breaker, and truth telling ministry without fear of loss of membership.  This is who we have become under the Spirit of our God.  It doesnt take a whoke army of mighty men.  Just a hand full of true dedicated disciples to spread the infectious Word of God to ready and willing bodies. 

Author:

Ordained Elder, Husband, and Father.

Leave a Reply

